top of page

That's Ok Because...


There’s never been

Black kids in my classes

But that’s okay because

“Racism is over”

I’d say that to my mom

Every time she asked

what race my friends were

All I’ve ever known was that

Black stayed at home

When you leave home

You act like your friends

All my friends were White

But that’s okay because

I guessed

“The White way is

the right way”

It was in fourth grade when

I was first asked

“Why do you always

hang out with Them,

and not Us?

Suddenly there became

a Them and Us.

But that’s okay because

They outnumbered Us

so chances are

I would end up

hanging out with Them anyway.

In middle school I moved

Around from Us to Them

During the lunch period

They still weren’t in my classes

But that’s okay because

At least I interacted with Them

My music was

predominantly pop

I heard the “Black” stuff at home

But you know, that stayed at home

There were all these

new trends happening

It was weird

My older brothers liked the same trends

They never liked

the “White” stuff

So that had to mean it was “Black stuff”

White kids dressing Black

and talking Black

Did this mean being Black

Was starting to be cool

But the White kids could never

Actually “Be Black”

But that’s okay because

If they were doing it,

it had to be right.

All of a sudden

In high school everyone was

“Being Black”

I must not have got the memo

I was never prepare to

actually “Be black”

It confused me because

I wasn’t sure what I was

Supposed to be hide anymore

Things were crossing over my

Home and school

Separation line

That took this long to perfect

In the first place

But that’s okay because

The line wasn’t really

there in the first place

“Racism is over” remember?

I joined the BSU club

I had just found out it meant

Black Student Union

Maybe this was the place

To finally be the Black Girl

My skin and hair

Wanted me to be.

I was brutally

awakened To reality

My childhood had been

Whitewashed

With a thick coat of paint.

A few meetings in I realized

Black people were still struggling

They had always been struggling

And I was always oblivious

But that’s okay because

I found out I’ve

always Been Black

So therefore

I’ve been struggling also,

Right?

There were a lot of

Black people shot down that year

How was I supposed to

relate to all the tragedy around me

When there has never been

Any tragedy around me

How could I walk around

Saying I’m Black when

I was never really told

“You are Black!

You’ve always Been Black!

You will always Be Black!

It is okay to Be Black!”

But that’s okay because

Because …

It was never okay!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page