top of page

BLK


Lady liberty asking for forgiveness

Simulation on her guest list

Her arms are aching

Holding up a torch that ain’t even lit yet

Livin’ in perilous times

She traded in her torch for a nine

Traded in her voice for a dollar

Lord forgive us for our sins

How do we begin again?

Skin spell out nigga to them

Swear this was the last bed of flowers to lay on black skin

I fold my culture in my fist

Won’t let it get stripped again

Listening out for my tele’

Don’t let it ring again

They say we’re all born with ten toes

I still haven’t checked yet

Belly full of consumption

Since the media hasn’t left yet

Checking my twitter page for names they’ll soon forget

Wearin’ the flag on they backs

Still searchin’ for idols i guess

And we all watch the news

But some still haven’t woke yet

Disillusion split on they tongue

Serpents speak with their last breath

They say we’re fighting for a cause

But i’m still waitin’ on my check

I’m still waitin’ in line

To find a brotha who did the crime

Find a brotha without his hands up

Lord our eyes are watching you

Lady liberty forgive us

We can’t stop livin’ in color

Skin stained with oppression

Beggin’ please don’t take another

But our smiles stay black

You can tell by our pain

Take back your government name

My kitchen has no room for shame

So to all my Black Kings and Neo-Soul Sistas

This is your truth

Ancestors callin’ on kinfolk

Bout’ time we wake up our youth

Bout’ time i see more of you claiming those African roots

Last word of advice,

Hands up

Don't shoot.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page