top of page

It Doesn't Come Off: A Collections of Short Stories and Real Life Events


It Doesn’t Come Off

Mom: I recall one day when I was working as a housekeeper (for some white folks), while I was ironing,their little girl came up to me and rubbed my arm.

Little girl: “It doesn’t come off”

Mom: I asked her, “Why did you do that?”

Little girl: “Well, they told me not to touch you or it would rub off and I’ll become black like you.”

m,l.l...ll,

Mom: Smiling, “Oh no it doesn’t come off. We’re all the same we just have different colored skin.”

Last Name Though Birth

Mom: I recall one time while working for a company doing data entry I got a call out of the blue.

Lady: (Who happens to be white.) “Hi, how are you?”

Mom: “I’m fine and you?”

Lady: “I called because I noticed in the company phone list that you had the same last name as me. Perhaps, we could be related. I’d like to come by tomorrow and met you.”

Mom: “Sure, come on by.”

NEXT DAY:

Lady: “Hi, I was looking for Miss McCorkle. Do you know where I can find her?”

Mom: “Yes, that’s me.”

Lady: “Uh . . . . Oh no!!! You can’t be her”.

Mom: “Well, I am.”

Lady: “How did you get that last name?”

Mom: Keeping her composure, “I was born with it. How did you come by that last name?”

Lady: “Well I took my husband’s last name when we got married.”

Mom: “That’s good, but, it’s our family name and I it since birth.” Smiling proudly with satisfaction that she made her point.

Lady walks away embarrassed.

I Need to Check Your Bags

I recall an incident as a teenager, that goes something like this. My mom was about training us to be on our own in the world. So, she sent me and my brother to the thrift store or something. Afterwards, I figured that she had planned this out meticulously, because, that’s who she was. She, said she was tired or something and need us to go shopping; she had the complete list, prices, the money, what to expect back for change.

My brother and I used her method, going down each isle way, picking up things on the list and checking them off. We felt good, having a good time and laughing. We finally got up to the cashier, and paid for our items; we ended up with two bags of stuff. We started to walk out of the store then heard, “Stop right there, I need to check your bags for stolen items,” from the store’s security guard. I replied, “We, didn’t still anything!” “Don’t get smart boy,” he said, “I’ve gotta check your bags.” Not knowing what to do, being intimidated and scared of authority figures, I let him check our bags. I could see that my brother was getting upset like I was, but, said to him, “It’ll be okay, we didn’t steal anything, and we have the receipt as proof.” He, took each of our items out our bags to check against the receipt. “Okay, all seems in order, you can pack your bags and leave the store.”

“What took you two, so, long? I was worried.” After me and my explained what happened, my mom got so angry at the situation, saying, “They have no right or cause to search your bags when you paid for everything. I should go up there and give him piece of my mind!!!”

I felt violated, sad and ashamed that I didn’t know what to do, or be smarter about the situation. I beat myself up over that incident for a long while. After maturing a bit, I see it now as a learning event. Some people will treat you very different based upon the color of my skin.

The Bus Stop

I recall as a pre-teen, me and a friend, became interested in religion and started going to church. I usually got a ride from my friend and his parents. When they moved I started taking the bus, to get to church. I had become so regular in catching the bus, the driver would eventually let me ride for free, since I was going to church. One Sunday, while waiting on the bus, I noticed that an accident knocked over bus stop’s pole and sign. The placed a temporary sign on a nearby, electric pole. So, one Sunday while waiting on the bus, a police car drove up and they started questioning me as to why I was just standing on the corner, was I looking for trouble, and so forth. I told them I’m just waiting on the bus. The officer replied, there’s no bus stop here. A little surprised at his tone, I said, “Yes, there is,” and pointed up at the temporary sign saying, “It’s up there on the electric pole.” He glanced up, saw it, and said, “Oh, okay, keep out of trouble.” I couldn’t believe that I was put through that because, I had my bible in hand and was dressed in a mom-made suit jacket.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page